other aspects of the language used in the prescription, dispensing, sale, or manufacture of drugs. Andrzej Wilk, Ph.D., is the USP Department of Healthcare Quality and Safety liaison to the USP Nomenclature and Labeling Expert Committee.

USAN Council

The three organizations that sponsor the USAN Program, i.e., the American Medical Association (AMA), the American Pharmacists Association (APhA), and USP, do so through representation on the USAN Council. Members are appointed by their sponsors, subject to acceptance by the other sponsors. In addition, the three organizations jointly select a member-at-large. Members are appointed for one-year terms and may serve no more than ten consecutive terms.

In 1967, negotiations were completed to provide for participation by the FDA in the program as a means of consolidating the work of selecting suitable nonproprietary names for drugs on the part of the federal government and the existing Council. Thus, a liaison representative of the FDA sits on the Council. The roster of the Council for 2020, with member appointment or designation shown parenthetically, includes:

- Gerry McEvoy, Pharm.D. (Member-at-Large)
- David Lewis, Ph.D. (FDA)
- Armen Melikian, Pharm.D., Ph.D. (APhA)
- Thomas P. Reinders, Pharm.D., Ph.D. (USP)
- Peter Rheinstein, M.D., J.D. (AMA), *Chair*

The USAN Council was formed January 2, 1964, to succeed the AMA–USP Nomenclature Committee. It works mainly by e-mail, although Council meetings are held twice a year.

The USAN Council Secretariat is located at the AMA. Inquiries and communications pertaining to USAN should be addressed to the USAN Council Secretary (Secretary, USAN Council, c/o American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, Illinois 60610 [Telephone: (312) 464-4046]).

USAN Review Board

The six-member USAN Review Board was established to provide